LSU Law Takes National Championship at Admiralty Moot Court Competition!

Coach Dean Sutherland, Phillip Smith, Caroline Darwin and Arielle Minor

Coach Dean Sutherland, Phillip Smith, Caroline Darwin and Arielle Minor

For the second consecutive year, the LSU Paul M. Hebert Law Center took first place honors at the Judge John R. Brown Admiralty Moot Court Competition.  The winning team was composed of Phillip Smith, Arielle Minor and Caroline Darwin.  Thirty teams from nineteen different law schools from around the country participated in this year’s competition which concluded this past weekend.  The team was coached by Dean Sutherland (’75).  Former LSU Law admiralty team members Jennifer Mayberry (’14), Ahmed Mohammed (’15), C. Jacob Gower (’12) and Shelly Napolitano (’12) each participated in pre-competition practices, along with Professor John Devlin.

Also for the second consecutive year, Phillip M. Smith won the Rebecca Jackson Award for the Best Oral Advocate in the Championship Round.  The winning team also won the Law Offices of George W. Nowell Award for the Best Respondent’s Brief.

The LSU Law team of Stephanie Lott, Markel Guidry and John Nickel received a quarterfinalist award, placing ninth, and barely missing the quarterfinals by a fraction of a point on the third tie-breaker.

“I am extremely proud of all six of these LSU students, who devoted an enormous amount of their time and effort to participate in this competition.  I am grateful to the LSU Law Center for providing me the opportunity to work with these bright, talented and motivated law students,” said Coach Dean Sutherland.